Medical Marijuana in New Jersey

Pot Laws in New Jersey

Marijuana has not been decriminalized in the state of New Jersey. Charges for possession of marijuana fall into two categories: possession of 50 grams or less is a misdemeanor offense, with sentencing of up to 6 months in jail and a fine of $1000. Possession of any amount over 50 grams is considered a felony and will invoke a sentence of up to 18 months in jail and a $25,000.

Medical Marijuana in NJ

Obtaining medical marijuana in New Jersey is considered to be the strictest state marijuana program at this time. In order to obtain medical marijuana in New Jersey, a patient must be assessed by a medical marijuana program (MMP) approved doctor. Patients with chronic or terminal illnesses may apply. No personal growth or marijuana is permitted under this program. Patients may purchase their marijuana in licensed dispensaries, and may possess up to 1ounce of pot. Other state-approved medical marijuana cards are not accepted in New Jersey.

View Treatment Centers Find Local Treatment Centers Now Learn more now
updated: August 2013

 
Marijuana Photos

Drug Treatment Professionals: Contact us to Contribute Expert Articles!

 Forums & Discussions

Find out what patients and others are saying...

Link to This Page

Facilities and Services:

Or Search by Zip Code:



Need Help? View all Drug Treatment Centers and Drug Rehab Programs | Browse Top States: Arizona | California | Florida | New York | Texas
Alcohol And Marijuana Treatment Kick Club Drugs for Good Opiate and Prescription Abuse Recovery Top Crystal Meth Rehabs Cocaine Addiction Treatment
Kick Club Drugs for Good Opiate and Prescription Abuse Recovery Top Crystal Meth Rehabs Cocaine Addiction Treatment Alcohol And Marijuana Treatment
Opiate and Prescription Abuse Recovery Top Crystal Meth Rehabs Cocaine Addiction Treatment Alcohol And Marijuana Treatment Kick Club Drugs for Good
Want Help Beating an Addiction?