Medical Marijuana in California
Marijuana has been decriminalized in California since 1975, when Senate Bill 95 passed, making possession of less than 28.5 grams punishable by a $100 fine only. If the person in possession of this quantity of pot is under 18 years of age, the charge is a misdemeanor and sentencing is for 10 days in jail a fine of $250. If this amount is found in possession of an adult (18 and over) on school grounds while school is open, the sentence will be 10 days in jail and a $500 fine. Those charged with possession of over 28.5 grams will receive misdemeanor charges, punishable by 6 months in jail and a $500 fine. This may turn into a charge of “intent to distribute” which will indicate a much more serious sentence. This amount or more in possession (by an adult, 18 or over) is still regarded as a misdemeanor, and sentencing will be up to six months in jail and a fine of $500. Growing any amount of marijuana is a felony conviction, sentenced to 16-36 months in prison, with no fine.
Medical Marijuana in CA
In California, here is no set limit of how much marijuana a patient and their caregiver may possess or grow. This is due to a California Supreme Court ruling (People v. Kelly) that found the limits set previously in California were unconstitutional to uphold. The standard set since that precedent is “whatever is reasonable for the patient’s needs.” Medical marijuana dispensaries are numerous in California, and it is fairly easy to get "a card," or prescription, for pot with a doctor's assessment. updated: August 2013