Drug Penalties The nitty-gritty on penalties for possession of and/or supplying drugs

Your Rights in Clubs What can and can't be done to you during a search in a club

Your Rights With Police What to do in the event police stop, search and arrest you for drugs

Drug Penalties

where you stand - officially and unofficially by Paul Almond


Your Rights in Clubs

Clubs have the right to search anyone entering their premises, and must provide searchers of both sexes. They can refuse entry to anyone who refuses a search and can only insist on searching outside clothes, pockets and bags. your rights They must conduct the search in a decent manner and with respect to the individual. They cannot insist on a more intimate search without your permission. Legally, they can only conduct strip- searches and search inside clothes with your permission in private with an independent witness. bouncers If a bouncer searches inside your clothes or performs a strip search without your permission they may be charged with assault.


Your Rights With Police

You can be stopped and searched if the police have a reasonable suspicion that you are in possession of controlled drugs. Police can stop and question people whenever they wish. They are supposed to ask questions in order to decide whether or not grounds for a search exist. If you are stopped, ask why and, at the end, ask for a record of the search. If you give a satisfactory explanation for "suspicious" behavior that should, according to police codes of practice, make a search unnecessary. your rights on arrest you have the right:


Medical Marijuana in California

Marijuana has been decriminalized in California since 1975, when Senate Bill 95 passed, making possession of less than 28.5 grams punishable by a $100 fine only. If the person in possession of this quantity of pot is under 18 years of age, the charge is a misdemeanor and sentencing is for 10 days in jail a fine of $250. If this amount is found in possession of an adult (18 and over) on school grounds while school is open, the sentence will be 10 days in jail and a $500 fine.


Medical Marijuana in Washington State

Along with Colorado, the state of Washington has passed legislation legalizing the recreational use of marijuana. It is now legal to sell, grow and use pot in the state of Washington. You can possess and use marijuana (up to 1 ounce) in private but not in public.


Medical Marijuana in Washington, DC

Possession of marijuana in the District of Columbia is a misdemeanor charge, for any/all amounts, punishable by six months in jail and a $1000 fine. For first offenders, charges may be expunged from the records after all sentences have been completed. Cultivation and sales of marijuana are felony charges, which carry penalties of five years in prison and fines of $50,000. Any sales or cultivation taking place within 1000 feet of a school or other area, as specified within the law, carries an additional felony charge, and thereby doubles the penalty for each category of conviction. Medical Marijuana in D.C.